Bringing my website into the current decade

What does one do when he’s fascinated by astronomy and is going through cloudy weather for weeks on end? I thought it was about time to refresh my website and bring it up to today’s standards (I hope). For my first post I would like to show you my latest picture I took : a Hubble palette false colour image of the Wizard Nebula, captured on November 17th, 2012 (yes, that many cloudy weeks).
This is my image of the open star cluster NGC 7380, also known as the Wizard Nebula. It is located in the constellation Cepheus about 7,000 light-years from Earth within the Milky Way Galaxy. The star cluster is embedded in a nebula, which spans some 110 light-years. The stars of NGC 7380 have emerged from this star-forming region in the last 5 million years or so, making it a relatively young cluster.

NGC7380_Hubble_r2

Setup:

Telescope: Takahashi FSQ-106ED 106mm F5
Camera: QHY9
Mount: Mesumount 2
Guiding: OAG with DMK2.1
Exposure: 6x20min SII (R) + 9x20min Ha (G) + 6x20min O3 (B)
Date: November 17th, 2012
Location: Overijse, Belgium

I hope you enjoy my blog/website. Feel free to comment or give suggestions!
Cheers,
Bart

Leave a comment